“The Japanese people owe to Edwards Deming the revival of Japanese industry and its worldwide success.”

- From the decree on awarding the Order of the Blessed Treasure, 2nd degree, one of the highest orders of Japan, awarded on behalf of the emperor, 1960.

Biography and role of W. Edwards Deming

To simultaneously translate English-language videos into Russian, use the new Yandex Browser feature - real-time video translation.

Translation of video into Russian

Edwards Deming is deservedly considered one of the creators of the Japanese economic “miracle”, the founder of the process of revival of the Japanese economy in the post-war years; his name is associated with a phenomenon that another American scientist, who also contributed to this process, Dr. Joseph Juran, called the “revolution in quality.”

Photo: Edwards Deming with the Order of the Blessed Treasure, 2nd class, awarded to Deming on behalf of the Emperor of Japan in 1960

Deming is a world-famous scientist, especially revered in Japan, the author of numerous works in the field of management, quality and efficiency management, including the famous book "Overcoming the Crisis", the head of an independent consulting company founded in 1946.

Deming was born in 1900 and lived to be 93 years old. Until the last day of his life, Deming conducted four-day seminars on the basics of management, methods of quality and efficiency management.

After graduating from the University of Wyoming, Edwards Deming became a doctor of physical and mathematical sciences at the age of 28, completing graduate school at Yale University.

In the 1930s, while working at a USDA research laboratory, Edwards Deming became an active developer of statistical quality control methods. Developing the approach proposed by the famous American statistician W. Shewhart for managing production processes. Deming extended the use of Shewhart's methods to the sphere of control of complex systems. Edwards Deming combined his work in government agencies with active teaching, heading the department of mathematical statistics at the Institute of the US Department of Agriculture from 1933 to 1953, as well as lecturing at other higher educational institutions.

With the direct assistance of Deming, during the Second World War, the US Department of Education organized 8-day intensive courses at many universities to train employees of Defense Department contractors in statistical process control methods.

It is especially important for managers of large corporations to know about what is presented in the paragraph above. We explain some important aspects in the open solution: "When designing in CAD, do you rely on testing a digital model built at nominal value? Then expect problems with the assembly of components and the behavior of the finished product in real conditions" .

Deming was one of the founders of the American Society for Quality Control (ASQC), created in 1946, now renamed American Society for Quality (ASQ) .

Shoichiro Toyoda on the teachings of Edwards Deming

"Now more than ever, we must remember the teachings of Dr. Deming. Simply put, quality comes first. There is not a day that I don't think about what Dr. Deming meant to us. Deming is the core of our management."

- Shoichiro Toyoda, President of Toyota Motors (1982-1992)

Donald Petersen, Chairman & CEO Ford Motor Company (1985-1989) about Edwards Deming

"I am a student of Deming. Those enterprises that do not embrace a culture of quality will not survive."

- Donald Petersen, Chairman & CEO Ford Motor Company (1985-1989)

Alan Mulally, Chairman & CEO Ford Motor Company (2006-2014) about Edwards Deming

"My entire business approach is based on Deming's focus on quality. And that's picking up steam again at Ford."

- Alan Mulally, Chairman & CEO Ford Motor Company (2006-2014)

David Kearns, CEO of Xerox Corporation about Edwards Deming

"When Dr. Deming came here (to Xerox), he was very hard on us."

- David Kearns, CEO Xerox Corporation (1982-1990)

Having visited Japan for the first time in 1946 on behalf of the scientific and economic department of the US Department of Defense, Edwards Deming, with the assistance of the Japanese Union of Scientists and Engineers, gave a series of lectures on methods of statistical quality control, first to a group of specialists, and then to an audience of 45 people - senior managers Japanese companies (analogous to the Forbes ranking of the richest businessmen in Russia). Their merit lies in the fact that the need to study and implement methods of statistical process control was instantly realized. In Japan, a massive process of training managers at all levels, scientific and technical personnel, ordinary workers and company employees in these methods was organized, which was the starting point of the “quality revolution.” Since then, Deming was regularly invited to Japan to give lectures and consultations, and the widespread introduction of statistical control methods into the practice of companies brought results in the form of a significant increase in product quality and production efficiency, which determined Japan's leadership in the field of competitiveness in world markets.

Deming Lecture in Japan in Osaka

Photo. Edwards Deming Lecture in Japan in Osaka.

Edwards Deming drew the chain reaction on the blackboard during all his meetings with top Japanese management since 1950. As soon as the Japanese management realized the meaning of this chain reaction, all residents of the country, starting from 1950, have found a common goal, and its name is quality.

Improve quality

Costs will be reduced due to fewer errors, rework and delays, as well as better use of machine time and materials.

Productivity will increase

Capture the market by offering better quality at a lower price

Stay in business

Save and increase the number of jobs

- [2] Chain Reaction, Edwards Deming (Deming's Chain Reaction)

In recognition of the merits of Edwards Deming in 1951 in Japan on the initiative Union of Japanese Scientists and Engineers (JUSE) A highly prestigious award was established in his name, which has since been awarded annually to companies for outstanding achievements in quality improvement and to individuals for significant contributions to the theory and practice of quality management. The award comes in the form of a diploma and a silver medal with the profile of Dr. Edwards Deming. The Deming Prize ceremony is broadcast on national television in Japan. More than 200 companies and more than 70 individuals have been awarded the Deming Prize. See detailed information on the website JUSE - Union of Japanese Scientists and Engineers (Union of Japanese Scientists and Engineers).

The most famous companies that received the Deming Prize

Drawing. The most famous companies and the years they received the Deming Prize. For a complete list of companies awarded the Deming Prize, visit the website JUSE .

Professor Deming and the President Toyota Fukio Nakagawa at the Deming Prize ceremony (1965)

Figure 4. Professor Edwards Deming and Toyota President Fukio Nakagawa at the Deming Prize ceremony (1965). Source: global.toyota

Dr. Edwards Deming has been a consultant to major companies in the United States and Japan, including General Motors, Ford, Nashua and others, which have achieved significant results in improving product quality and production efficiency.

Dr. Edwards Deming is the recipient of numerous honorary titles, he was awarded the US National Medal of Technology, and his name is engraved in the “Hall of Fame” for his achievements in the field of science and technology. In 1960 Dr. Edwards Deming was awarded the Order of the Blessed Treasure, 2nd class. This is one of the highest orders of Japan, awarded on behalf of the emperor.

He was a professor emeritus at New York University, where he lectured for 30 years and annually conducted more than twenty 4-day seminars on the topics: “Quality, Efficiency and Competitiveness”, “Management methods aimed at improving quality and efficiency.”

The Deming Center has been established at Columbia Business School in New York, where students study his methods. At the end of each year, leaders of large businesses participate in the Deming Cup of Columbia Business School. Watch the 2019 awards ceremony below:

Video. Deming Cup Award Ceremony at Columbia Business School in New York

Fordham University of New York , has an 18-month MBA curriculum that integrates Deming's principles with the regular MBA curriculum.

Dr. Edwards Deming is the author of the theory of quality management, in which statistical methods are just a tool, and most importantly - a moral philosophy based on respect for the employee as an individual, involvement in the process of solving current problems of all company employees, creating a psychological atmosphere that eradicates fear and creates the basis for revealing human creative potential.

Four Points of Quality:

1. Product and service innovation.

2. Process innovation.

3. Improvement of existing products and services.

4. Improvement of existing processes.

[2] Edwards Deming, "Overcoming the Crisis"
(W. Edwards Deming, "Out of the Crisis")

Despite the clear acceptance of Edwards Deming's management philosophy in Japan, his popularity in America only exploded in 1980 with the release of the NBC NEWS documentary If Japan Can, Why Can't We? (If Japan Can, Why Can't We?). When the film was first broadcast in America, the Deming Prize was already the most coveted industry award in Japan. Today this film, after 35 years of being banned from public viewing, thanks to the efforts of Deming Institute , available to everyone. Soon after the film's release, American industry icons such as Ford , General Motors , Dow Chemical Company , Xerox And Hughes Aircraft , asked Edwards Deming to help them.

Video. NBC NEWS Film: If Japan Can Do It, Why Can't We? (If Japan Can, Why Can't We?)

Below are some excerpts from Edwards Deming's speech in the NBC NEWS film, "If Japan Can, Why Can't We?" (If Japan Can, Why Can't We?):

The Japanese realized that the benefit you get with statistical methods is the benefit you get without new equipment, without new people.

Statistical thinking and statistical methods are a second language for Japanese production workers, foremen, and all company employees.

With statistical control, you have a repeatable product, hour after hour, day after day. Management knows what they can produce and what their costs will be.

I think that here in the US people expect miracles. American leadership thinks they can just copy from Japan - but they don't know what to copy!

I ask managers how much of their problems stem from their production workers. And the answer is always: everything! Completely false.

None of the business school graduates know what management is and what its shortcomings are. No one who has graduated from business school has ever heard of the answers I give to your questions - or perhaps even thought about them.

- Edwards Deming, "If Japan Can, Why Can't We?"

In the 80s, Deming was also invited to give lectures before senior Pentagon officials .

In 1991, to commemorate Edwards Deming's outstanding achievements and contributions to the automobile industry, he was honored with inclusion in Automotive Hall of Fame (Dearborn, Michigan, USA).

Video. Film about Edwards Deming. Part 1 (1984)

Video. Film about Edwards Deming. Part 2 (1984)

Video. Film about Edwards Deming. Part 3 (1984)

In the following video, William W. Scherkenbach, director of statistical methods at Ford Motor Company, speaks with Edwards Deming (1984):

Video. William W. Scherkenbach, director of statistical methods at Ford Motor Company, talks with Edwards Deming (1984)

In the following video, W. Edwards Deming talks with Gary McDonald (General Motors Research Laboratories), Fred C. Leone (Executive Director, American Statistical Association), Churchill Eisenhart (US National Bureau of Standards) ) and Lloyd Nelson (Nashua Corporation) in 1981. The video was sponsored by General Motors Research Laboratories in collaboration with the American Statistical Association.

Video. W. Edwards Deming talks with Gary McDonald (General Motors Research Laboratories), Fred C. Leone (Executive Director, American Statistical Association), Churchill Eisenhart (US National Bureau of standards) and Lloyd Nelson (Lloyd Nelson, Nashua Corporation) in 1981.

In the following video, Edwards Deming talks about teaching simple statistical management techniques for the industrial crisis facing the Western world (1981), 54 minutes. Lead and project director Gary McDonald (General Motors Research Laboratories), project director Dr. Harry O. Posten (University of Connecticut). The video was sponsored by General Motors Research Laboratories in collaboration with the American Statistical Association.

Video. Edwards Deming talks about teaching simple statistical management techniques in the face of the industrial crisis facing the Western world (1981)

See below, the interview of Yuri Pavlovich Adler (Professor MISIS) with Sergei Turko (Editor-in-Chief of the Alpina Publisher), The Philosophy of Edwards Deming:

Video. Interview of Yuri Pavlovich Adler (Professor at MISIS) to Sergei Turko (Editor-in-Chief, Alpina Publisher).

«Японский народ обязан Эдвардсу Демингу возрождением японской промышленности и её всемирным успехом».

- Из указа о награждении орденом Благодатного Сокровища 2-й степени, одним из высших орденов Японии, вручаемый от имени императора, 1960

Знания

Биография У. Эдвардса Деминга. (W. Edwards Deming biography)

Э. Деминга заслуженно считают одним из создателей Японского экономического "чуда", основоположником процесса возрождения японской экономики в послевоенные годы, с его именем связано явление, которое другой известный американский ученый, также немало способствовавший этому процессу, доктор Дж. Джуран назвал "революцией в качестве".

Фото: Эдвардс Деминг с орденом Благодатного Сокровища 2-й степени, вручённого Демингу от имени императора Японии в 1960

Эдвардс Деминг (1900 – 1993) - всемирно известный ученый, автор многочисленных работ в области менеджмента и управления качеством, в том числе знаменитой книги "Выход из кризиса", глава независимой консультативной фирмы, основанной в 1946г.

Получив высшее образование в университете штата Вайоминг, Э. Деминг в 28 лет стал доктором физико-математических наук, окончив аспирантуру в Йельском университете. Впоследствии он прослушал курс лекций по теории математической статистики в Лондонском университете, который читал известный ученый Р. Фишер.

В 30-е годы, работая в научно-исследовательской лаборатории министерства сельского хозяйства США, Э. Деминг стал активным разработчиком методов статистического контроля качества. Развивая подход, предложенный известным американским статистиком У. Шухартом для регулирования процессов производства, Деминг распространил применение этих методов на сферу, управления системами. Работу в государственных учреждениях Э. Деминг совмещал с активной педагогической деятельностью, возглавляя кафедру математической статистики в Институте при министерстве сельского хозяйства США с 1933 по 1953 гг., читая лекции в других высших учебных заведениях.

При непосредственном содействии доктора Э. Деминга в годы второй мировой войны министерство образования США организовало во многих университетах США 8-дневные курсы интенсивного обучения методам статистического контроля сотрудников компаний-подрядчиков министерства обороны США.

Доктор Э. Деминг являлся одним из основателей Американского Общества по Контролю Качества, созданного в 1946 г., ему была присуждена одна из самых престижных наград, учрежденных этим Обществом - медаль им. У Шухарта.

Shoichiro Toyoda об учении Э. Деминга

"Сейчас более чем когда-либо, мы должны помнить учение доктора Деминга. Проще говоря, качество первично. Нет ни дня, чтобы я не задумывался о том, что доктор Деминг значил для нас. Деминг - это ядро ​​нашего менеджмента".

- Shoichiro Toyoda, Президент компании Toyota Motors (1982-1992)

Donald Petersen, Chairman & CEO Ford Motor Company (1985-1989) об Э. Деминге

"Я ученик Деминга. Те предприятия, которые не воспримут культуры качества, не выдержат".

- Donald Petersen, Chairman & CEO Ford Motor Company (1985-1989)

Alan Mulally, Chairman & CEO Ford Motor Company (2006-2014) об Э. Деминге

"Весь мой бизнес-подход основан на внимании Деминга к постоянной заботе о качестве. .... Это действительно набирает обороты здесь в Форд снова".

- Alan Mulally, Chairman & CEO Ford Motor Company (2006-2014)

David Kearns, CEO Xerox Corporation об Э. Деминге

"Когда д-р Деминг пришел сюда (в Xerox), он был очень суров с нами".

- David Kearns, CEO Xerox Corporation (1982-1990)

Посетив впервые Японию в 1946 г. по заданию научно-экономического отдела министерства обороны США, Э. Деминг при содействии Японского Союза Ученых и Инженеров выступил с циклом лекций по методам статистического контроля качества сначала перед группой специалистов, а затем перед аудиторией из 45 человек - высших руководителей японских компаний. Их заслуга состоит в том, что необходимость изучения и внедрения методов статистического контроля была моментально осознана. В Японии был организован процесс массированного обучения управляющих всех уровней, научно-технического персонала, рядовых рабочих и служащих компаний этим методам, что явилось исходным моментом "революции в качестве". С тех пор Э. Деминга регулярно приглашали для чтения лекций и консультаций, а широкое внедрение методов статистического контроля в практику деятельности фирм принесло плоды в виде существенного повышения качества продукции, эффективности производства, что и обусловило лидерство Японии в области конкурентоспособности на мировых рынках.

Лекция Деминга в Японии в Осаке

Рисунок. Лекция Э. Деминга в Японии в Осаке.

Цепную реакцию Э. Деминг рисовал на доске во время всех своих встреч с высшими менеджментом в Японии, начиная с 1950г. Как только японский менеджмент постиг смысл этой цепной реакции, все жители страны, начиная с 1950г. обрели общую цель, и имя ей качество.

Улучшайте качество

За счет меньшего количества ошибок, переделок и задержек, а также лучшего использования машинного времени и материалов уменьшатся затраты

Повысится производительность

Займете рынок, предлагая лучшее качество по более низкой цене

Останетесь в деле

Сохраните и умножите количество рабочих мест

- [2] Цепная реакция, Эдвардс Деминг

В знак признания заслуг Э. Деминг в 1951 г. в Японии была учреждена весьма престижная награда его имени, присуждаемая с тех пор ежегодно компаниям за выдающиеся успехи в деле повышения качества и отдельным лицам за существенный вклад в теорию и практику управления качеством. Награда выдается в виде диплома и серебряной медали с профилем доктора Э. Деминга. Торжественная церемония вручения награды "Премия Деминга (Deming Prize)" транслируется по национальному телевидению. Премией Деминга награждено более 200 компаний и более 70 физических лиц. Смотрите подробную информацию на сайте JUSE - Union of Japanese Scientists and Engineers (Союз японских ученых и инженеров).

Наиболее известные компании, получившие Премию Деминга (Deming Prize)

Рисунок. Наиболее известные компании и годы получения ими Премии Деминга (Deming Prize). Полный список компаний, награжденных Премией Деминга смотрите на сайте JUSE.

Профессор Деминг и президент
           Toyota Фукио Накагава на церемонии вручения премии Деминга (1965)

Рисунок 4. Профессор Э. Деминг и президент Toyota Фукио Накагава на церемонии вручения премии Деминга (1965). Источник: global.toyota

Доктор Э. Деминг являлся консультантом крупнейших компаний в США и Японии, среди которых корпорации "Дженерал Моторс", "Форд", "Нашуа" и другие, добившиеся существенных результатов в повышении качества продукции и эффективности производства.

Доктор Э. Деминг является обладателем многочисленных почетных званий, ему присуждена национальная медаль США в области технологии, его имя высечено в "Зале славы" за достижения в области науки и техники. В. 1960г. доктор Э. Деминг награжден орденом Благодатного Сокровища 2-й степени. Это один из высших орденов Японии, вручаемый от имени императора.

Он являлся почетным профессором Нью-Йоркского университета, где читал лекции на протяжении 30 лет, ежегодно проводил более двадцати 4-дневных семинаров на темы: "Качество, Эффективность и Конкурентоспособность", "Методы управления, нацеленные на повышение качества и эффективности".

В Бизнес-школе Колумбийского университета (Columbia Business School) Нью-Йорка учреждён Деминг Центр, где студенты изучают его методы. По итогам каждого года лидеры крупного бизнеса участвуют в Кубке Деминга Колумбийской бизнес-школы. Смотрите ниже церемонию награждения победителей 2019 года:

Fordham University Нью-Йорка, имеет MBA учебную 18-месячную программу Деминга, которая объединяет принципы Деминга с обычной учебной программы MBA.

Доктор Э. Деминг является автором теории управления качеством, в которой статистические методы - лишь инструмент, а главное - философия нравственности, основанная на уважении к работнику как к личности, вовлеченность в процесс решения текущих проблем всех сотрудников компании, создание психологической атмосферы, искореняющей страх и создающей почву для раскрытия творческого потенциала человека.

Четыре Острия Качества:

1. Инновации продуктов и услуг.

2. Инновации процессов.

3.Улучшение существующих продуктов и услуг.

4. Улучшение существующих процессов.

- [2] Эдвардс Деминг

Несмотря на однозначное признание философии управления Э. Деминга в Японии, его популярность в Америке резко выросла лишь в 1980 году, после выхода документального фильма на канале NBC NEWS "Если Япония может, почему не можем мы?" (If Japan Can, Why Can't We?). Когда в Америке впервые транслировали этот фильм, в Японии премия Деминга уже была самой желанной промышленной наградой. Теперь этот фильм, после 35 лет запрета на публичный просмотр, благодаря усилиям Института Деминга, доступен для бесплатного просмотра. Вскоре, после выхода фильма иконы американской промышленности, такие как Ford, General Motors, Dow Chemical Company, Xerox and Hughes Aircraft, просили Э. Деминга помочь им.

Ниже представлены некоторые выдержки из речи Э. Деминга в фильме "If Japan Can, Why Can't We?":

Японцы поняли, что выгода, которую вы получаете с помощью статистических методов, - это выгода, которую вы получаете без нового оборудования, без новых людей.

Статистическое мышление и статистические методы для японских производственных рабочих, мастеров и всех сотрудников компании являются вторым языком.

При статистическом контроле у ​​вас есть воспроизводимый продукт час за часом, день за днем. Руководство знает, что они могут производить и каковы будут их затраты.

Я думаю, что здесь (США) люди ждут чудес. Американское руководство думает, что они могут просто скопировать у Японии - но они не знают, что копировать!

Я спрашиваю руководителей, какая часть их проблем возникает из-за их производственных рабочих. И ответ всегда: все! Совершенно неверно.

Никто из выпускников бизнес школ не знает, что такое менеджмент и каковы его недостатки. Никто из выпускников школ бизнеса никогда не слышал об ответах, которые я даю на ваши вопросы - или, возможно, даже не думал о них.

- Э. Деминг, фильм "Если Япония может, почему не можем мы?"

На следующем видео Уильям В. Шеркенбах, директор отдела статистических методов компании Ford Motor Company беседует с Э. Демингом 1984 г.):

На следующем виде У. Эдвардс Деминг беседует с Гэри Макдональдом (Gary McDonald, General Motors Research Laboratories), Фредом К. Леоне (Fred C. Leone, Executive Director, American Statistical Association), Черчиллем Эйзенхартом (Churchill Eisenhart, USA National Bureau of standards) и Ллойдом Нельсоном (Lloyd Nelson, Nashua Corporation) в 1981г. Видеозапись произведена при спонсорстве Исследовательской лаборатории General Motors (General Motors Research Laboratories) в сотрудничестве с Американской статистической ассоциацией (American Statistical Association).

На следующем видео Э. Деминг говорит об обучении простым статистическим методам управления в условиях промышленного кризиса, с которым сталкивается западный мир (1981), 54 минуты. Ведущий и директор проекта Гэри Макдональд (Gary McDonald, General Motors Research Laboratories), директор проекта Доктор Гарри О. Постен (Harry O. Posten, University of Connecticut). Видеозапись произведена при спонсорстве Исследовательской лаборатории General Motors (General Motors Research Laboratories) в сотрудничестве с Американской статистической ассоциацией (American Statistical Association).

Смотрите далее, интервью Юрия Павловича Адлера (профессора МИСИС) Сергею Турко (Главный редактор Издательство «Альпина Паблишер»), Философия Эдвардса Деминга:

Знания